last posts

Check out the 2022 LSWA Class 5A All-State Football Team | Preparation sports


Destrehan’s quarterback Jai Eugene Jr. and John Curtis’ linebacker Justin Horne lead the Louisiana Sports Writers Association Class 5A football team.

Eugene and Horne were selected by a statewide panel of sportswriters as Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year after each helped his school win an LHSAA state championship.

Eugene, selected to the team as an athlete, was among five Destrehan players chosen. Karr had four players selected, Curtis had two, and there was one each from Brother Martin, East St. John, Jesuit and St. Augustine.

Ruston’s Jerrod Baugh was voted Coach of the Year for reaching the national final after four straight quarter-final losses. Ruston reached the national final for the first time since 1998.

Eugene, selected to the team as an athlete, completed 95 of 155 passes for 1,898 yards with 23 touchdowns and three interceptions. He rushed 93 times for 724 yards and 13 scores.

He rushed for the game-winning touchdown on a 29-yard run in the fourth quarter as Destrehan beat Ruston 17-10 in the unselective Division I Final.

Despite being a quarterback in high school, the Tulane signee projects himself as a defensive back in college.

Joining Eugene de Destrehan was senior offensive lineman Landry Cannon (another Tulane signee), junior linebacker Kolaj Cobbins, senior defensive back Kevin Adams (Tulane) and senior return specialist Daniel Blood (Missouri).

Horne, a Texas Tech signee, had 144 tackles, 17 for a loss with six sacks and three passes defended. The District 9-5A defensive MVP showcased the same speed that helped him become a state championship hurdler in the spring.

Joining Horne from Curtis was junior offensive lineman Bryce Godfrey.

From Karr were running back Brandon Spincer (Southeast Louisiana), running back Deantre Jackson (Southeast Louisiana), defensive lineman Jonathan Bax (TCU) and defensive back Michael Richard (Louisiana Tech).

East St. John junior wide receiver Dkhai Joseph, St. Augustine senior offensive lineman Troy Smith (Louisiana Tech), Brother Martin senior defensive lineman Brenden LeBlanc (East Tennessee State), and Jesuit senior punter William Hudlow (Tulane) also earned caps.



Pos School Player Ht. CL weight

WR Pearce Russell Benton 6-0 185 Sr.

WR Shelton Sampson Jr. Catholic 6-4 185, Sr.

WR Dkhai Joseph East St. John 5-11 165 Jr.

OL Mason Skipper Ruston 6-1 305 Sr.

OL Bryce Godfrey John Curtis 6-3 275 Jr.

OL Brandon Spincer Edna Karr 6-2 275 Sr.

OL Landry Canon Destrehan 6-3 330 Sr.

OL Troy Smith St. Augustin 6-5 290 Sr.

QB Daniel Beale Catholic 6-2 195 Jr.

RB Carldell Sirmons Ouachita 5-7 158 Jr.

RB Jaylan White Parkway 5-9 180 Sr.

RB Deantre Jackson Edna Karr 5-8 180 Sr.

PK Aeron Burrell Parkway 6-2 165 Jr.

ATH Jai Eugene Destrehan 6-0 190 Sr.


Pos School Player Ht. CL weight

DL Christian Davis Ruston 6-4 300 Sr.

DL Ashley Williams Zachary 6-4 220 Sr.

DL Jonathan Bax Edna Karr 6-3 230 Sr.

DL Brenden LeBlanc Brother Martin 6-1 265 Sr.

LB Jadon Mayfield Ruston 6-0 222 Jr.

LB Chauncey Lee West Monroe 5-9 190 Sr.

LB Justin Horne John Curtis 6-1,200 Sr.

LB Kolaj Cobbins Destrehan 6-3 200 Jr.

DB Jordan Matthews Woodlawn 6-1 185 Sr.

DB Kylin Jackson Zachary 6-3 200 Sr.

DB Michael Richard Edna Karr 5-9 160 Sr.

DB Kevin Adams Destrehan 5-10 170 Sr.

P William Hudlow Jesuit 6-0 215 Sr.

KR Daniel Blood Destrehan 6-0 175 Sr.

ATH Stamps Ashton Rummel 6-0 170 Sr.





Drew Dronet, Sam Houston; Jamal Levi, Beard; Kandy Cordova, Beard; Jamorion Jackson, Sam Houston; Josh Colvin, Ruston; Ahmad Breaux, Ruston, Nate Johnson, Ruston; Jordan McWain, Ruston; Pierson Parent, Dutchtown; Joe Bordelon, Alexandria; Jeremiah Jeffers-Wright, Alexandria; Luc Guidry, Slidell; Aaron Jackson, Ruston; Daxton Chavez, airline; Amyrion Mingo, Alexandria; Jaylin Johnson, Alexandria; Chantz Babineaux, Carencro; Koby Young, St. Croix; Royal Gray, East St. John; Nate Green, West Monroe; Jacob Johnson, Catholic; Ethan Fields, Dutchtown; Roy Brackins III, Woodlawn; Noah Miller, Ouachita; Kam Robinson, Captain Shreve; BJ Meche, Acadiana; Akicita Ardoin, south side; Israel Jolivette, Carencro; Khayree Lee, John Ehret; Lawson Champagne, Covington; Peyton Polk, Haughton; Ean Rodrigue, Thibodaux; Jaden Osborne, Ruston; AJ Samuel, Edna Karr; Yashua Mitchell, East St. John; Royal Falgout, John Ehret; Chantz César, Carencro; Gray Walters, Benton; Ben Taylor Airline; Antonio Ford, West Ouachita; Dyson Fields, Ruston; Tyler Rhodes, Haughton; Marlon Prout, John Curtis; Torey Lambert, Brother Martin; Shane Lee, Destrehan; George Martin, East St. John; Kevan Williams, Acadiana; Aidan Corbello, Jesuit; Ashton Guilbeau, Lafayette High School; Demarcus Singleton, Thibodaux; Jahiem Johnson, Hammond; AK Burrell, Dutchtown; Colin Rains, Haughton; Geordan Guidry, Ruston; Judd Rouyea, Catholic; Dylan Carpenter, St. Amant; D’Arrius Zeigler, West Monroe; Shane Payton-Hodges, St. Augustine; Brenden LeBlanc, Brother Martin; Dominic McKinley, Acadiana; Keevon George, Carencro; Charles Atkins, East Jefferson; Terrence Greene, Captain Shreve; Zheric Hill, Ruston; Brooks Brossette, Byrd; Connor Blank, Haughton; Landen Lee, Captain Shreve; Kristian Doyle, Ouachita; Dickson Agu, Dutchtown; Rylon Johnson, Brother Martin; Lucas Harrington, south side; Bryce Blackwell, Covington; CJ Williams, West Monroe; Chaunky Lewis, Ouachita; Dashawn McBryde, Denham Springs; Bryson Jones, south side; Corinthian Walters, Southwood; Jacob Johnson, St. Paul’s; Abram Murray, Byrd; John Chance, Captain Shreve; Will Fendley, Ruston; Russel Babineaux, Acadian; Christian Jones, Byrd.




Font Size
lines height