last posts

Georgia Soccer Championship History: How Many National Titles Have The Bulldogs Won?


Georgia once again looks poised to sit atop the college football world.

The Bulldogs won the national championship in 2021, beating Alabama and eliminating the possibility of the CFP’s first-ever back-to-back champion. In 2022, Georgia has a shot at becoming the first straight winner after going undefeated in the regular season and reaching the Peach Bowl, where it will face Ohio State in the CFP Semifinals.

The past two years for Georgia have put the Bulldogs in a rare spot for the program. Georgia has lost just one game since the start of the 2021 season. The only two-year span in which the Bulldogs have lost one or fewer games in two consecutive seasons was in 1982-83, when Vince Dooley’s Georgia teams went 21-2-1 in both years.

Georgia can only lose one game this season and is fortunate that this is only the fourth undefeated season in Bulldog history.

MORE: SN experts make semi-final CFP predictions

How many times have the Bulldogs won the national championship? Here is a look back at the history of the program.

Georgia Soccer League History

How many national championships has Georgia won in football?

In the history of Georgian football, the Bulldogs have won two national championships. The first came back in 1980 and the most recent in 2021.

Here’s a look at those Bulldogs’ winning seasons, according to the NCAA:

Year Selection of organizations Divide? Bowl Game Victory
1980 AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI Nope Sugar
2021 College Football Playoffs Nope CPF National Championship

Throughout college football history, picking a title winner hasn’t always been easy. There was no national championship game until 1998 in the first year of the BCS, meaning past national champions were judged by polls and organizations, and often selected retroactively.

MORE: Georgia-Ohio State betting odds

There’s not much controversy with Georgia’s two wins. The most recent came in a title match, which leaves no doubt as to the champion. The first was in 1980, when all the major drafting organizations – the Associated Press (AP), the Football Writers Association of American (FWAA), the National Football Federation (NFF) and United Press International (UPI) – chose Georgia.

A few other Georgia programs have been selected as national champions by certain organizations, including the 1920, 1927, 1942, 1946, and 1968 teams, but they are not recognized by the NCAA as title winners.

When was Georgia’s last national championship?

Georgia finally stepped into the world of college football in 2021, when they defeated Alabama in a resounding 33-18 win. The win came after falling to the Crimson Tide in the 2021 SEC Championship and already being stunned by Alabama in the 2017 title game in the only CFP Championship to reach overtime.

The previous national championship was in 1980, when the Dooley Bulldogs went undefeated in the regular season and defeated No. 7 Notre Dame in the Sugar Bowl. All major selection organizations have chosen Georgia as their national championship.

MORE: How old is Stetson Bennett?

Georgia soccer record in bowling matches

Prior to BCS, there was no national championship game. There was a range of bowling matches which often featured highly ranked teams, but these matches did not always feature the top two teams and were therefore not national championship matches.

Georgia has never appeared in a BCS title game, but has appeared in the CFP Finals twice. The Bulldogs lost in the 2017 National Championship to Alabama in a stunning 26-23 loss as Tua Tagovailoa hit DeVonta Smith in the end zone after taking a sack to set up a fearsome second-and-26.

But the Bulldogs would have their revenge. Last year, Georgia met Alabama in the national championship for the second time. After trailing 9-6 at halftime, Georgia beat Alabama 27-9 in the second half to claim their first national championship. The win raised the Bulldogs’ title game record to 1-1.

The Bulldogs have an all-time winning record in bowl games, however, with an all-time record of 35-21-3 in bowl games.



Font Size
lines height